John Anderson Fraser, The Monarchy in Canada: an update, February 28, 2023

RSVP by Feb 23rd to attend in person.
[N.B., this will not be a Whiff@Home meeting.]

Click here to jump to the RSVP below the speaker’s bio.

John Fraser is no stranger to the Whiff membership. John first spoke to us 12 years ago, when his topic was Through a glass darkly: Why academics (and journalists) should never try to predict anything. His most recent talk was at our November 2020 Whiff@Home meeting on What to do about China!. Following that meeting, he became a member of the Whiff.

John Fraser has been a reporter, columnist, editor, ombudsman and benefactor. (Click for more biographic details.)

With the passing of Elizabeth Regina and the upcoming coronation of our new King, John’s many years of being an ardent proponent and debater in defence of the Crown make him the ideal speaker to give us an Update on the Monarchy in Canada. He graciously acquiesced to the Speakers Bureau’s request to speak to us again, this time about how things have changed since his 2012 book The Secret of the Crown: Canada’s Affair with Royalty. Whiffers, family and friends will enjoy another thought provoking talk by a great Canadian journalist.

The meeting will be held at the Royal Canadian Military Institute, 426 University Ave. Unfortunately as our tech gurus are both travelling, there won’t be a Whiff@Home option for this meeting.


Join fellow Whiffers on Tuesday, February 28th
The reception at the RCMI begins at 6:00 pm.


To RSVP for this event, enter your first and last names as recorded in our Whiff database.


How to use Zoom

Chris Twigge-Molecey, Understanding China’s global ambitions and the Belt and Road Initiative, April 25, 2023

Chris Twigge-Molecey. PhD., P.Eng., FCIM, FCAE. Chris is a Senior Advisor at Hatch Ltd, a global consulting engineering and project management group. He has held many global board, management and technical positions. He is a director of the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame, a past director of the Canada-China Business Council, a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, and a Past President of The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum. Continue reading Chris Twigge-Molecey, Understanding China’s global ambitions and the Belt and Road Initiative, April 25, 2023

Feb 28, 2023 – RSVPing order

Show Member version of list - by Status & LastName

Listed in order of most recent response. Click here to refresh.

Yes: 13

No: 19

NameEmail AddressRSVP StatusNote
Stuart McKay stuartmckay43@gmail.com Yes
Ken Powell kenpowell30@gmail.com Yes
Peter Simmie petersimmie@yahoo.ca Yes
Peter Baines petermbaines@gmail.com Yes
Charles MacRae charles.macrae@gmail.com Yes Also adding Guests Beth MacRae & Lynn Smith
Steven Moorhead Steve.moorhead@icloud.com No
Tom Leverty tleverty@rogers.com Yes
Dave Pelletier dave@davep.ca No
Chris Portner cportner2@gmail.com No
Peter Douglas Thedouglases2@gmail.com No
Robin Barstow rbarstow@caldwellsecurities.com Yes
Burt Retter bretter@eurovac.com No
Bob Blair rblair1409@gmail.com No
David Murray murray_david@rogers.com No
Gary Durno gdurno24@gmail.com No
Graeme Clark graeme@clarkone.com Yes
Ron Foreman ron.foreman@gmail.com No Very sorry to miss this. I will be away. I love the book!
Paul Potvin potvinpaul@gmail.com Yes I’m not sure if I have a credit balance with the Whiff. Please let me know if I need to make a payment. Best regards, Paul
David Cameron dic@nexicom.net No
Peter Goring peter@goring.com No Regrets, will be in Paris
Doug Mills doug@dasmills.ca No
Ian Brown ian-brown@rogers.com No
Robert Hyland roberthhyland@gmail.com No
Clifford Lax clifflax@gmail.com No
Tom Sanderson ThomasSanderson3111@gmail.com No
Henry Borden hmacb@sympatico.ca Yes
Aubrey Baillie abaillie@newportprivatewealth.ca No Response
Anthony Miller anthonymiller@rogers.com No Response
Andrew Clark asclark@sympatico.ca Yes
Albert Steenburgh bert@stonefortress.ca No Response
Andrew Kirsch ashoomkirsch@yahoo.com No Response
Bart MacDougall bmacdougall@3macs.com No Response
Bev Collombin bevcoll@rogers.com No Response
Bill Boughner billboug37@gmail.com No Response
Bill Barnett wmebarnett@hotmail.com No Response
Bill Fleury billfleury1@gmail.com No Response
Bill McNaughton wjmcn1@gmail.com No Response
Bob Morrison Robert851@sympatico.ca No Response
Brian Westlake briancwestlake@gmail.com No Response
Brian Carter carterwbc@hotmail.com No Response
Chris Twigge-Molecey Christwigge14@gmail.com No Response
Christopher Turney christurney49@gmail.com No Response
Dale Jeffries dale@jeffries.cc No Response
Dan Sullivan dan.sullivan@rogers.com No Response
David G. Temple david.temple@humber.ca No Response
David Glue glue.dr@gmail.com No Response
David Ross djrblackburn@yahoo.ca No Response
David Warren warrendavi@gmail.com No Response
Don Comish doncomish@rogers.com No Response
Don Johnson don.johnson@bmo.com No Response
Douglas Davis douglasacdavis@gmail.com No Response
Douglas McWhirter dougmcw@sympatico.ca No Response
Eugene Harrigan eharrigan@rogers.com No
Garnet Watchorn gwatchorn@graywoodgroup.com No Response
Gary German garygerman00@gmail.com No Response
Gary Getson ggetson@rogers.com No Response
George Denier gwdenier@gmail.com No
George Hayhurst wilsonpalmer@hotmail.com No Response
Germán Morales moralesgerman@hotmail.com No Response
Gord Kaiser gordon.kaiser0@gmail.com No Response
Gordon Tamblyn gordon@countryroadsvillas.com No Response
Hank Bulmash hank@bulmash.ca No Response
Ian CTW Brown ian.brown@Whiff-of-Grape.ca No Response
Ian Farquharson farquharson.ian@gmail.com No Response
Jack Way jackhway@hotmail.com No Response
Jean-Luc Major jean-luc.major@hotmail.com No Response
Jim Cairncross jimcairncross2001@rogers.com No Response
Jock Fleming jock.fleming@rogers.com No Response
John Paterson, Sr. jpatersonsr@gmail.com No Response
John Fraser jfraser@mediacouncil.ca No Response
John Hackett ehackettis@rogers.com No Response
John Gardner johngardnertoronto@gmail.com No Response
John Wildman jwildman2020@gmail.com No Response
Jon Allen jon.allen@utoronto.ca No Response
Keith Sjogren sjogren@rogers.com No Response
Ken Bahen kcbahen@gmail.com Yes
Lake Trevelyan laketrevelyan@gmail.com No Response
Lee Watchorn CLFW@rogers.com No Response
Matey Nekov de la Camp matey@nedcorpinc.com No Response
Michael Butler michaelbutler4520@gmail.com No Response
Michael Charles michael.charles@rogers.com No Response
Michael Willson michael@willowprint.com No Response
Michael Morgan michaelmorgan@rogers.com No Response
Michael Robinson mrobinson@tor.fasken.com No Response
Mike Innes mike.innes@sympatico.ca No Response
Mike Mackey mwmackey@bell.net No Response
Mike Miller Mmillerz@outlook.com No Response
Next Speaker toronto.whiff.of.grape+NextSpeaker@gmail.com No Response
Norair Yeretsian capitalmoves@gmail.com No Response
Norman Hardie norman.hardie@hardieassociates.com No Response
Paul Warrington marpaul@sympatico.ca No Response
Peter Seybold pseybold41@gmail.com No Response
Peter Sisam peter.sisam@img.com No Response
Phil MacDonnell pgmacd@me.com No Response
Richard White RWhite@mackieresearch.com No Response
Rob Woodrooffe robwoodrooffe@rogers.com Yes
Robert Adams robert.e.adams@rogers.com No Response
Robert Milnes robert.milnes@sympatico.ca No Response
Robin Labatt robinlabatt@rogers.com No Response
Rod de Courcy Ireland roddci@rogers.com No Response
Roger Clarkson r.clarkson@rogers.com No Response
Rudi Vezer rvezer@gmail.com No Response
Speaker's Guest toronto+SpeakersGuest@whiff-of-grape.ca No Response
Ted White ted.francoise@sympatico.ca No Response
Tim Kennish tkennish@rogers.com No Response
Tom Fischer thomas.fischer@sympatico.ca No
Tom Jamieson tomjamiesonqc@gmail.com No Response
Trevor Jones tgjont@rogers.com No Response
Warren Finlay wwhfin@gmail.com No Response
William Hewitt wehew@sympatico.ca No Response
William Kinnear amobat@gmail.com No Response
z-No Response z-RSVP Management rsvp_no_response@whiff-of-grape.ca No Response

Feb 28, 2023 – Who’s Attending?

Click here to refresh this list by RSVP Status, Surname Click here to refresh this list by Surname

Yes: 13

No: 19

NameRSVP StatusChange RSVP StatusNote
Ken Bahen Yes
Change status to: No

Peter Baines Yes
Change status to: No

Robin Barstow Yes
Change status to: No

Henry Borden Yes
Change status to: No

Andrew Clark Yes
Change status to: No

Graeme Clark Yes
Change status to: No

Tom Leverty Yes
Change status to: No

Charles MacRae Yes
Change status to: No

Also adding Guests Beth MacRae & Lynn Smith
Stuart McKay Yes
Change status to: No

Paul Potvin Yes
Change status to: No

I’m not sure if I have a credit balance with the Whiff. Please let me know if I need to make a payment. Best regards, Paul
Ken Powell Yes
Change status to: No

Peter Simmie Yes
Change status to: No

Rob Woodrooffe Yes
Change status to: No

Bob Blair No
Change status to: Yes

Ian Brown No
Change status to: Yes

David Cameron No
Change status to: Yes

George Denier No
Change status to: Yes

Peter Douglas No
Change status to: Yes

Gary Durno No
Change status to: Yes

Tom Fischer No
Change status to: Yes

Ron Foreman No
Change status to: Yes

Very sorry to miss this. I will be away. I love the book!
Peter Goring No
Change status to: Yes

Regrets, will be in Paris
Eugene Harrigan No
Change status to: Yes

Robert Hyland No
Change status to: Yes

Clifford Lax No
Change status to: Yes

Doug Mills No
Change status to: Yes

Steven Moorhead No
Change status to: Yes

David Murray No
Change status to: Yes

Dave Pelletier No
Change status to: Yes

Chris Portner No
Change status to: Yes

Burt Retter No
Change status to: Yes

Tom Sanderson No
Change status to: Yes

Robert Adams No Response
Change status to:

Jon Allen No Response
Change status to:

Aubrey Baillie No Response
Change status to:

Bill Barnett No Response
Change status to:

Bill Boughner No Response
Change status to:

Ian CTW Brown No Response
Change status to:

Hank Bulmash No Response
Change status to:

Michael Butler No Response
Change status to:

Jim Cairncross No Response
Change status to:

Brian Carter No Response
Change status to:

Michael Charles No Response
Change status to:

Roger Clarkson No Response
Change status to:

Bev Collombin No Response
Change status to:

Don Comish No Response
Change status to:

Douglas Davis No Response
Change status to:

Rod de Courcy Ireland No Response
Change status to:

Ian Farquharson No Response
Change status to:

Warren Finlay No Response
Change status to:

Jock Fleming No Response
Change status to:

Bill Fleury No Response
Change status to:

John Fraser No Response
Change status to:

John Gardner No Response
Change status to:

Gary German No Response
Change status to:

Gary Getson No Response
Change status to:

David Glue No Response
Change status to:

Speaker's Guest No Response
Change status to:

John Hackett No Response
Change status to:

Norman Hardie No Response
Change status to:

George Hayhurst No Response
Change status to:

William Hewitt No Response
Change status to:

Mike Innes No Response
Change status to:

Tom Jamieson No Response
Change status to:

Dale Jeffries No Response
Change status to:

Don Johnson No Response
Change status to:

Trevor Jones No Response
Change status to:

Gord Kaiser No Response
Change status to:

Tim Kennish No Response
Change status to:

William Kinnear No Response
Change status to:

Andrew Kirsch No Response
Change status to:

Robin Labatt No Response
Change status to:

Phil MacDonnell No Response
Change status to:

Bart MacDougall No Response
Change status to:

Mike Mackey No Response
Change status to:

Jean-Luc Major No Response
Change status to:

Bill McNaughton No Response
Change status to:

Douglas McWhirter No Response
Change status to:

Anthony Miller No Response
Change status to:

Mike Miller No Response
Change status to:

Robert Milnes No Response
Change status to:

Germán Morales No Response
Change status to:

Michael Morgan No Response
Change status to:

Bob Morrison No Response
Change status to:

Matey Nekov de la Camp No Response
Change status to:

John Paterson, Sr. No Response
Change status to:

Michael Robinson No Response
Change status to:

David Ross No Response
Change status to:

Peter Seybold No Response
Change status to:

Peter Sisam No Response
Change status to:

Keith Sjogren No Response
Change status to:

Next Speaker No Response
Change status to:

Albert Steenburgh No Response
Change status to:

Dan Sullivan No Response
Change status to:

Gordon Tamblyn No Response
Change status to:

David G. Temple No Response
Change status to:

Lake Trevelyan No Response
Change status to:

Christopher Turney No Response
Change status to:

Chris Twigge-Molecey No Response
Change status to:

Rudi Vezer No Response
Change status to:

David Warren No Response
Change status to:

Paul Warrington No Response
Change status to:

Garnet Watchorn No Response
Change status to:

Lee Watchorn No Response
Change status to:

Jack Way No Response
Change status to:

Brian Westlake No Response
Change status to:

Richard White No Response
Change status to:

Ted White No Response
Change status to:

John Wildman No Response
Change status to:

Michael Willson No Response
Change status to:

Norair Yeretsian No Response
Change status to:

z-No Response z-RSVP Management No Response
Change status to:

Thank you for RSVPing for the Whiff@RCMI dinner

Thank you for RSVPing that you will be attending in-person at the next Toronto Whiff@RCMI meeting which starts at 6:00 PM, Tuesday, Feb 28th, 2023

To complete your RSVP: You must now make a $110 Interac Payment to treasurer@whiff-of-grape.ca  before Wednesday Feb 23rd. [A PDF “cheat sheet” on how to make Interac e-Transfers to the Whiff may be downloaded from here.]

Once payment has been received, you will be sent a final confirmation along with details regarding the RCYC and meeting protocols. Cancel before Feb 23rd as per cancellation policy.

Need to change any of your RSVP response? Click here.

Thank you for RSVPing for the Whiff@RCYC dinner

Thank you for RSVPing that you will be attending in-person at the next Toronto Whiff@RCYC meeting which starts at 6:00 PM, Tuesday, Mar 28th, 2023

To complete your RSVP: You must now make a $112 Interac Payment to treasurer@whiff-of-grape.ca  before Wednesday Mar 22nd. [A PDF “cheat sheet” on how to make Interac e-Transfers to the Whiff may be downloaded from here.]

Once payment has been received,  you will be sent a final confirmation along with details regarding the RCYC and meeting protocols. Cancel before Mar 22nd as per cancellation policy.

Need to change any of your RSVP response? Click here.

Thank you for RSVPing for Whiff@Home

Thank you for RSVPing that you will be attending virtually for the next Toronto Whiff@Home meeting.

The Zoom session will open at 7:30pm for social chat with fellow Whiff@Home guests. We anticipate that the Speakers’ presentations will commence at ~8:15pm.   The details for joining the Zoom meeting have been emailed to you and will be resent on the day of the meeting.

Need to change any of your January RSVP response? Click here.

June Bash, Monday , June 5, 2023

Our traditional June Bash will be held at the RCYC Island location. Monday, June 5, 2023 Details to follow. The evening will be a purely social event without a speaker, allowing time to stroll the property overlooking the lake and catch up on the year. Please refer to your personalized invitation for payment instructions. This will be sent to you in early May.